Cricket History Rewritten: Rohit Sharma’s Unbelievable Record Smashes Expectations!

“Rohit Sharma has etched his name into the annals of ODI cricket’s hall of fame, becoming the 15th player in history and the sixth Indian cricketer to amass an impressive tally of 10,000 ODI runs. This remarkable achievement saw him surpass the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly, who held the second and third positions in this illustrious list. Notably, Rohit accomplished this feat as the second-fastest player to reach this milestone, trailing only behind Virat Kohli.

Joining Rohit in this exclusive club of 10,000 ODI run-scorers were cricketing legends such as Kohli, Tendulkar, Ganguly, MS Dhoni, and Rahul Dravid. What’s even more astonishing is that the top four positions on this list now belong to Indian players, with Kohli and Rohit leading the charge, followed closely by Tendulkar and Ganguly. The fastest non-Indian cricketer to achieve this milestone, Ricky Ponting, occupies the fifth position.

Here’s a breakdown of the fastest to 10,000 ODI runs:

  1. Virat Kohli – 205 innings
  2. Rohit Sharma – 241 innings
  3. Sachin Tendulkar – 259 innings
  4. Sourav Ganguly – 263 innings
  5. Ricky Ponting – 266 innings
  6. J Kallis – 272 innings
  7. MS Dhoni – 273 innings
  8. Brian Lara – 278 innings
  9. Chris Gayle – 282 innings
  10. Rahul Dravid – 287 innings

Rohit’s remarkable achievement unfolded during a crucial Super Four clash in the 2023 Asia Cup against Sri Lanka. A victory in this match would secure India’s spot in the final, and Rohit, in partnership with Shubman Gill, provided a strong start for the Men in Blue after winning the toss and opting to bat. Rohit entered the game in fine form, having notched up half-centuries in India’s previous encounters against Nepal and Pakistan.

In classic Rohit fashion, he reached the 10,000-run milestone with a breathtaking six, sending a Kasun Rajitha delivery soaring over the boundary.

Rohit boasts a phenomenal record in ODI cricket, with an average that has now exceeded 49 and an impressive count of 30 centuries to his name. In the 50-over format, only Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli have accumulated more three-figure scores than him. Another unique feather in Rohit’s cap is that he is the sole cricketer in the world to have registered more than one double century, achieving this remarkable feat three times in his illustrious career.”

Leave a Comment